## Who or What is the PPC?

In some of the responses to the "inspired!" leaflets there have been queries about the PPC.

The **Parish Pastoral Council** exists to be consultative and act in an advisory capacity to the Parish Priest, who has overall responsibility to the Bishop.

It consists of voluntary representatives from each of the churches and has the purpose of encouraging all parishioners to participate in the life of the church by initiating co-operation and promoting the work and growth of the church in Christian Formation and Social and Community Affairs.

A Constitution was drawn up and ratified at the AGM November 25<sup>th</sup> 2019, and displayed in the churches. A copy of this can be viewed on our website.

The PPC meets monthly, and minutes of the meetings were displayed on the church notice boards until the pandemic lockdown. At the beginning of the Lockdown we transferred our meetings to online "Zoom". Some of the members were unable or unwilling to meet in this way, so alternative representatives were invited.

We try to begin and end our meetings with a prayer for spiritual guidance from the Holy Spirit. The meetings are open and honest and healthy differences of opinion are respected.

We take on board anxieties about lack of communication and transparency, and would like to make every effort to rectify this.

We plan to publish minutes of the meetings in future on the website for more easy access to the parishioners.

Representatives are elected by each church. In reality, there is often no need for an election since there are usually no more than two volunteers for each church. Representatives are elected at the AGM, with request for nominations being made in advance.

We have not had an AGM due to the pandemic restrictions, but will hold our next AGM on Saturday 27<sup>th</sup> November in St Margaret Mary Church Hall. Coffee and cake at 10.30 and meeting begins at 11am

The current PPC members are:

Clergy: Fr Barnabas, Deacon Paul Cinderford Representatives: Noel Riossi, Richard Coward Coleford Representatives: Peter Chisholm, Sarah Perkins Lydney Representatives: Pip Deave, Dorota Rapacz Sedbury Representative: Helen Molyneux Building and Finance Committee Representatives: Brain and Dot Lord Safeguarding Officer: Fiona Mills

Further members may be co-opted from time to time.

Pip Deave, Chair, FOD PPC